Rather than welcome myself to the world of blogging, I’d rather welcome myself to the world of manhood.  After many minute explosions of thought that seemed to be good ideas mounting to nothing, I have finally decided to write.  When did this take root? When was this seed planted?  I am not sure.  However, after coming across a fellow Canadian, Tim Challies and reading his tips on How to Start a Blog, along with other insights; also considering the New Year has just rang in here less than one hour ago, this is my cry to the world.  Actually, this evening (technically last evening), I came across something that added an extra pump that finally got the waters flowing.  Strangely enough it was from one of the most famous authors that I have never read, except for a feeble attempt in elementary school to look more intelligent than actually desire to learn something.  This king of writers makes it quite clear that to write well, you are to read much and write many (we’ll work on the grammar).

First thing is first, and that is the theme of this blog.  I guess it is not first, since I have rambled on thus far, but cut me some slack, I am new here.

Marriage – Christ and the Church.  My hope in this blog and in my writing and in all that I do is to Glorify God. That is the God of the Bible.  That is the creator of the heavens and the earth who before the foundation of the earth predestined to save a peculiar people, by and through His son and my Saviour Jesus Christ.  In time, I’d like to articulate my beliefs and unscramble my thinking as I am being changed from glory to glory.  Even now, I wonder what I am saying, but I know the fact of a new life because of Him.

God has granted me the wonderful privilege and great responsibility to love His daughter, my lovely wife.  We were brought together and in our first couple of years, I almost drove the two of us to a mental hospital or more realistically to our own deaths.  By His grace, He saved the both of us, and even though we have only been married for four long years, it has seemed as though His grace has allowed for a new outlook on the privilege  and responsibility that I took forward to living out as long as His will grants us time.

That is why I have been able to take this writing thing seriously.  Well, I say seriously, but I mean that I would like it to be an expression of what God is showing me by His word in our lives as we grow together.  So, I would like this first post to be a challenge to myself, but if anyone actually reads this, then I hope you too are able to take something from what I write.  If anything, I’d like to learn and be taught and corrected by those whom know more, and I know there are many.

Ephesians 5:25-33 “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her, 26 so that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, 27 that He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing; but that she would be holy and blameless.  28  So husbands ought also to love their own wives as their own bodies.  He who loves his own wife loves himself; 29 for no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ also does the church, 30 because we are members of His body. 31  For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and shall be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.  32 This mystery is great; but I am speaking with reference to Christ and the church.  33 Nevertheless, each individual among you also is to love his own wife even as himself…”

Today is January 1, 2012.  Happy New Year, by the way.  May my posts and marriage be grounded in Christ to the Glory of God.

 

 

